HomeMarket NewsBlockchainSam Bankman-Fried Remains Stuck in Jail

Sam Bankman-Fried Remains Stuck in Jail

Actionable Trade Ideas

always free

Initially, this text was an evaluation on whether or not or not Sam Bankman-Fried could be launched from jail forward of trial. A short time in the past, Choose Lewis Kaplan, of the U.S. District Court docket for the Southern District of New York, dominated he wouldn’t be. So that is now simply that article, with some added stuff, principally.

You’re studying State of Crypto, a CoinDesk publication trying on the intersection of cryptocurrency and authorities. Click on right here to enroll in future editions.

The narrative

Sam Bankman-Fried misplaced a bid to be launched from jail forward of his trial subsequent month. All hope isn’t misplaced for him, however time is operating out for the FTX founder.

Why it issues

On Tuesday, Choose Lewis Kaplan of the U.S. District Court docket for the Southern District of New York dominated that Bankman-Fried didn’t make a very persuasive argument that he must be launched from jail – the place, as a reminder, the choose put him final month on public security grounds.

Breaking it down

After weeks of back-and-forth on whether or not or not Bankman-Fried could be launched from jail forward of trial, we now have a solution: He gained’t be. The choose wrote a quick, pretty dismissive memo citing a number of causes for his choice, starting from discovering arguments in regards to the period of time left earlier than trial unpersuasive to saying the protection group didn’t actually make a case. The choose left the door open for a brand new movement that is likely to be extra persuasive, however at this level timing could turn into a difficulty. A complete month handed between Bankman-Fried’s group first attempting to get him out of jail and Tuesday’s ruling. The trial begins in simply three weeks.

My speculative guess is that, at some stage, Bankman-Fried’s group didn’t really count on him to be launched. The arguments in regards to the Sixth Modification appeared extra of a rhetorical gadget. What I feel goes to occur is that if Bankman-Fried is convicted on a number of of the seven expenses he faces at current, his protection group will file an attraction.

In that attraction, I count on they’re going to level to those pretrial motions and argue that he didn’t actually have a good shot at constructing his protection due to his pretrial incarceration.

That is all hypothesis although.

What we do know is there are three weeks left till the trial begins. Step one is the ultimate pretrial convention. Choose Kaplan will doubtless schedule a ultimate convention within the subsequent few weeks the place he’ll lay out how the trial will go, addressing any motions to strike, disclosed witness testimony points, what guidelines the prosecutors and protection must abide by throughout the trial itself and so forth.

Round then, we must always begin getting a full record of witnesses. There’s been some hypothesis that Ryan Salame, the previous co-CEO of FTX Digital Markets, could now testify after pleading responsible to expenses final week. Nonetheless, the New York Occasions stories that he’s not cooperating within the Bankman-Fried investigation.

That being stated, we already know from the DOJ’s previous memos that they’ve written supplies from Salame’s cellphone, which can make an look within the trial.

On October 3 itself, we’re going to begin with jury choice, in any other case generally known as voir dire, which is prone to take a number of days.

CoinDesk will cowl every day of the trial itself when it begins, with reporting direct from the courtroom. You possibly can learn all of our ongoing protection right here, and signal as much as a brand new each day publication authored by Danny Nelson, Elizabeth Napolitano, Sam Kessler, Helene Braun and myself. The publication kicks off subsequent week, and can run via the whole thing of the trial.

4PUO4TMCLNHE3CCKSDQWGN2MFA

Tuesday

  • 14:00 UTC (10:00 a.m. EDT) SEC Chair Gary Gensler testified earlier than the Senate Banking Committee. Nothing actually new, however the listening to supplied perception into Committee Chair Sherrod Brown’s views.

Wednesday

  • 14:00 UTC (10:00 a.m. EDT) There can be a Bittrex chapter listening to.
  • 15:00 UTC (11:00 a.m. EDT) There can be a Voyager chapter listening to.
  • 17:00 UTC (1:00 p.m. EDT) There can be an FTX chapter listening to (this one could also be important!).
  • 19:00 UTC (3:00 p.m. EDT) There can be a Prime Belief chapter listening to.

Thursday

  • 12:15 UTC (2:15 p.m. CEST) The European Central Financial institution will make its charge choice.
  • 18:00 UTC (2:00 p.m. EDT) The Home Monetary Companies Subcommittee on Digital Belongings will maintain a listening to on central financial institution digital currencies.
  • (Fortune) Fascinating deep dive by Fortune’s Leo Schwartz into Circle, one of many largest stablecoin issuers on the market.
  • (FinCEN) The Monetary Crimes Enforcement Community printed a public service announcement warning about “pig butchering” scams.

MSE4IAJEGZEIBM5Q2MALVAOPF4

When you’ve received ideas or questions on what I ought to focus on subsequent week or every other suggestions you’d wish to share, be happy to e mail me at [email protected] or discover me on Twitter @nikhileshde.

You can too be part of the group dialog on Telegram.

See ya’ll subsequent week!

The views and opinions expressed herein are the views and opinions of the writer and don’t essentially mirror these of Nasdaq, Inc.

Swing Trading Ideas and Market Commentary

Need some new swing ideas? Get free weekly swing ideas and market commentary from Jonathan Bernstein here: Swing Trading.

Explore More

Weekly In-Depth Market Analysis and Actionable Trade Ideas

Get institutional-level analysis and trade ideas to take your trading to the next level, sign up for free and become apart of the community.